Parent Page: Information For... id: 26952 Active Page: Awards & Honorsid:27355

Awards & Honors

Robert M. Bird Society Awards

Year Winner
2023 Ujjwol Khatri - Pathology
2022 Martha Blaess - Allied Health Sciences
2021 Michelle Zalles - Neuroscience
2020 Sherri Longobardi - Microbiology and Immunology
2019 Sapana Kadel - Microbiology and Immunology
2018 Chelsea Smith - Nutritional Sciences


O. Ray Kling Outstanding Leadership Award Recipients

2023 Nicole Crossley - Nursing
2022 Nicole Giordano - Microbiology and Immunology
2021 Sameer Gopalani - Biostatistics and Epidemiology
2020 Jaanam Gopalakrishnan - Pathology
2019 Alexandra Crowe - Pharmaceutical Sciences
2018 Rabab “Ruby” Sharif - Cell Biology
2017 Layne Rodden - Neuroscience
2016 Dana Mowls - Biostatistics and Epidemiology
2015 Summer Frank - Biostatistics and Epidemiology
2014 Amanda Janitz - Biostatistics and Epidemiology
2013 Brett Herzog - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
2012 Courtney Long - Microbiology and Immunology
2011 Courtney Donica - Neurosciences
2010 Curtis McMurtrey - Microbiology and Immunology
2009 Candace Robledo - Biostatistics and Epidemiology
2008 Katie Bryant - Microbiology and Immunology
2007 Rebecka Bourn - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology


Outstanding Senior Leadership Award Recipients

2022 Nicole Giordano - Microbiology & Immunology
2021 Bethany Williams - Allied Health Sciences
2020 Fauziyya Muhammad - Microbiology & Immunology
2019 Alexandra Crowe - Pharmaceutical Sciences
2018 Ozair Naqvi - Public Health


Outstanding Dissertation Award Recipients

2023 Sarah Ocañas, PhD "Epigenetic Regulation of Sexually Divergent Neuroinflammation with Brain Aging and Alzheimer's Disease" Willard Freeman, PhD
2022 Kimberlie Wittig, PhD "Regulation of DNA Replication Factor Protein Expression Throughout the Cell Cycle" Christopher Sansam, PhD
2021 Amanda Roehrkasse, PhD “Receptor Engagement and G Protein Recruitment by the Cardioprotective Peptide Adrenomedullin” Augen Pioszak, PhD
2020 Rabab Sharif-Sandel, PhD “Potential Role of Prolactin-Induced Protein as a Disease Biomarker and the Effect of Corneal Cross-Linking on Keratoconus Microenvironment” Dimitrios Karamichos, PhD
2019 Hem Sapkota, PhD “Determinants and Consequences of Cohesion Fatigue in Mammalian Cells” Gary J. Gorbsky, PhD
2019 Sanjida Mahjabeen, PhD “SHetA2 Vaginal Suppositories as Novel Treatment for Cervical Dysplasia: Formulation Optimization and Exploratory IND-Enabling Preclinical Studies” Lucila Garcia-Contreras, PhD
2018 Dana Mowls, PhD
“Cigarette Smoking, Electronic Nicotine Product Use and Biiomarkers of Exposure Among American Indians in the Southern Plains” Laura Beebe, PhD
2018 Dustin Masser, PhD “Quantitative assessment of neural retina morphology, function, and DNA methylation in an experimental model of diabetic retinopathy” Willard Freeman, PhD
2017 Rebba Boswell-Casteel, PhD “Functional Characterization of a Purified Equilibrative Nucleoside Transporter (ScENT1) From S. cerevisiae” Franklin A. Hays, PhD


Outstanding Thesis Award Recipients

2023 None    
2022 Benjamin Gochanour, MS " A Nonparametric Multiply Robust Multiple Imputation Method for Causal Inference" Sixia Chen, PhD
2021 Melissa Henniger, MS “Food Insecurity at an Academic Health Campus: Estimating Need, Stakeholder Interest, and Opportunities for Food Assistance Interventions at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center” Susan Sisson, PhD
2020 Alexander Stubblefield, MS “Selected Problems in Survey Sampling Design and Survey Missing Data Analysis” Sixia Chen, PhD.
2019 None    
2018 None    
2017 None    
2016 Mandy L. Lambros, MS “Investigating the Roles of NRF2 and UBCM2 in RPE Health and Integrity” Scott M. Plafker, PhD
2015 Kevin Ward, MS “Patients Self-Perception of Malocclusion and Facial Imbalance When Seeking Orthodontic Treatment” G.Frans Currier, D.D.S., M.S.D., M.Ed.
2014 None    
2013 Priyam Gandhi, MS “A Behavioral and Molecular Examination of the Temporal Dynamics of Chronic Pain in An Animal Model of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder" Kelly Standifer, Ph.D.
2012 Mackenzie Smith-Cottrell “The Role of Interleukin (IL)-6 and Its Regulation of Transforming Growth Factor β Type II Receptor” Randle Gallucci, Ph.D.
2011 None    
2010 Michael Schmitt “The Relationships Among Health Literacy, Physician and Pharmacist Counseling, Written Medicine Information and Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drug Risk Awareness in Older Adults” Michael Miller, Ph.D
2009 Jessica Reese, MS “The Association of a History of Breast Feeding and Risk of Asthma in Two-Year Old Children” Linda A. Cowan, Ph.D.


GREAT Symposium Winners

Student Paper of the Year

Award Nomination Packets